quilting

I invented a quilt block pattern!

Well, not really…

A few months ago, a good friend of mine from high school requested I make a quilt for her teenage daughter. She wanted something bright and colourful, and sun-inspired. After much time spent on Pinterest, we found a photo of an amazing vintage sun quilt on the blog The Lettered Cottage that was exactly what she wanted, but it didn’t come with a pattern. So I had to get creative.

white and yellow quilt
The inspiration from The Lettered Cottage

I put together a paper-piecing pattern that has worked very well for me to accomplish the look we were going for with this quilt, so I thought I would share it with fellow quilters of the interwebs.

Download the pdf file here

The pattern comes in two pieces. These two pieces get pieced together to form 1/4 of the quilt block. You need to print 4 copies on 8.5 x 11 ” paper to make one whole quilt block.

Note that seam allowances are not included around each 1/8th of a block. When cutting the paper, add 1/4 inch all around.

The block finishes at a little over 16 inches. I wasn’t very finicky about sizing, because the size of the quilt didn’t really matter as long as the result was lap-sized. I assume you can play with the printing to have your blocks finish at smaller or larger size.

sunblocks
Aren’t they pretty? I love Anna Maria Horner especially.

Here is the result of the pattern. I used the Anna Maria Horner True Color collection, as well as some Alison Glass and Tula Pink prints. I’ll post a photo of the finished quilt when it’s all done!

I hope you use and enjoy the pattern and feel free to send over questions or comments!

2 thoughts on “I invented a quilt block pattern!

Leave a Reply

