product review

Product review : Jane Iredale Disappear Camouflage Cream & Pure Pressed Minerals Refillable Pressed Powder Base

I blogged last week about a few tips to control acne. Today is almost a follow-up post on how to conceal blemishes and acne scars.

I recently discovered the Jane Iredale brand, which is a line of mineral make-up that is natural and does not contain any harmful chemicals. I have switched all my make-up essentials (mascara, eye liner and eye shadow) to this brand, and love it.

I was never big on foundations and powders, but I recently decided to take a leap of faith and try some of their products in that category, in order to camouflage my blemishes as much as possible, and have more beautiful skin (at least in appearance).

The first product I will review is the Disappear Camouflage Cream, which is basically a concealer. A very effective concealer. I have been using it every day for a week and it works wonders. It hides all the blotchy redness like no other concealer I have ever tried before. Plus it has green tea extract and other natural ingredients to help get rid of the pimple. Best of all, it rates as a 2 on EWG’s Skin Deep Database (2 being low hazard).

Once I am done with concealer, I apply their Pure Pressed Minerals Refillable Pressed Powder Base, the second product I will be reviewing. I find that for the great coverage that this powder offers, it is surprisingly light and looks very natural. Picking a color is kind of tricky, as they have so many, but I got lucky on my first try and got a good match. I love that this is a refillable container (you only replace the powder inside, not the casing), which is super eco-friendly. And this product also rates as a 2 on EWG’s Skin Deep Database.

My only negative about the pressed powder is that it comes with a really cheap and thin applicating sponge, whic forces you to either buy a better one, or, as they suggest in their instructions, to buy one of their foundation brushes, which are very expensive. I would have expected, for such a pricey product, that it would come with a quality applicator sponge. I just bought a replacement one at my local Superstore (Joe brand – rocks!).

I buy all of my Jane Iredale product on the Spa Boutique website, which has an excellent selection of natural and organic products (although you have to be familiar with the brands, since they don’t identify which of their brands are natural).

Leave a Reply

