beauty routine

Natural beauty regime : my go-to products

Five months ago, I officially switched my whole beauty routine to all-natural products. I thought I’d write a recap post with a list of the products I am using, along with the review of these products and some more recommendations.

FACE
Cleanser : Cocoon Apothecary’s Petal Purity Cleanser – Wonderful cream cleanser that leaves my face fresh without over-drying. Smells wonderful too.
Exfoliant : Cocoon Apothecary’s Petal Purity Exfoliating Cleanser – Gentle cream cleanser with round jojoba beads that get the job done without overdoing it. Gentle enough for everyday use.
Moisturizer : This has been a real problem as I seem to have a problem with butters in moisturizers ; they clog my pores like crazy. I ordered Pai’s Geranium & Thistle Organic Moisturizer recently (no butters or pore blocking ingredients, the base is jojoba oil) but I have yet to try it.
Eye Cream : Cocoon Apothecary’s Eyewaken Eye Cream. Wonderful, light, refreshing eye cream that revives your tired eyes.
Mask : Eminence’s Pink Grapefruit Clarifying Masque – I have just purchased this to replace my 100% Pure masque which was much to strong. Plus I’m sort of boycotting 100% Pure now because I don’t like how they treat customers.

BODY
Wash : I used to use 100% Pure Body Bars. They were great and big (10oz) so they lasted a long time. But they decided to cut the size of the bars in half, while still charging 9$ for the bar (their excuse? packaging of the new bar is fancier and more expensive. I say I’m not ready to pay 4,50$ in packaging. All I care about is the product). So I have dropped 100% Pure and as soon as I finish my stock of bars, I’ll move on to Kiss My Face’s Olive & Honey Bar Soap, which are also quite big and much more affordable.
Moisturizer: Cocoon Apothecary’s Magic Bean Lotion. Delicious. And wonderful hydration.

HAIR
Conditioner : Max Green Alchemy Scalp Rescue Conditioner. I’ve started to co-wash my hair (wash with conditioner) and now only shampoo twice a week (until I gradually get to no shampoos ever). This conditioner is great for co-washing because it’s not too thick, but it hydrates my hair well while not leaving residue on my scalp.
Treatment : Cocoon Apothecary’s Organic Argan Oil. Argan oil in pure form (not the Moroccan Oil crap that is shock-full of bad chemicals and fragrances) is great for treating split ends, for calming frizzy strays, and for overall treatment of dry hair. I use it every time I wash my hair, blending a few drops in my towel-dried hair. And once a week I do a hot oil treatment (3 tbsp of argan oil, warmed 20 seconds in the microwave and applied to my hair. Leave in 30 minutes before rinsing well and washing). I’ve noticed my hair grows so much faster since I started using argan oil on it.

I have also recently purchased Jane Irendale make-up (eyeshadow, mascara, eyeliner). I’ll do a separate post to review these. I’m excited to try them!

Leave a Reply

