Uncategorized

The dangers of benzoyl peroxide

I have been using benzoyl peroxide for years to control my acne, as has my husband. When I decided to green my beauty routine, my BP product was the only one I had trouble letting go of, because I was so self-conscious of my acne and I was afraid that stopping usage of BP would make me break out like crazy.

Then I stumbled upon an article which opened my eyes to the actual dangers of BP. I learned that benzoyl peroxide is banned in Europe in all beauty products. BP was linked to cancer and other developmental toxicity concern. The Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Database rates BP as a 7 out of 10, which is considered high hazard.

So somehow, giving up BP became pretty easy, for both my husband and I. We both switched to natural cleansers. And the thing is, acne has not been an issue since I completely cut BP from my routine. I use Cocoon Apothecary Petal Purity cleanser, and my skin is actually healthier looking and clearer than it was when I used BP. The key is in choosing a product that is gentle, and soothing, while including ingredients that fight acne naturally, such as lavender (antibacterial), geranium (antibacterial and astrigent), witch hazel (anti-inflammatory) or tea tree oil.
Leave a Reply

