Uncategorized

Burt’s Bees = Great customer service

A few months ago I purchased two jars of hand cream by Burt’s Bees (Almond Milk Beeswax Hand Cream) which, as a side note, is 100% natural. When I got home with my purchased I realized that the said jars had been opened before (there were finger-sized holes in both jars where people had taken some product to try it at the store).


Apart from the fact that I find it horribly rude of people to take product from a jar and put it back on the shelf, I was a little concerned that it was that easy to tamper with jars (none of the jars I saw had tamper proof seals or anything). So I decided to voice my concern to Burt’s Bees. This was their answer:


Please accept our apology for the lateness of this reply as there was a glitch in us receiving some web emails; however, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your concern with the Almond Milk & Beeswax Hand Crème you purchased.


In the past we had shrink wrap on the majority of our packages. We are moving away from certain kinds of seals on the majority of our products because the materials they are made of are not sustainable. We wanted to eliminate as much excess packaging as possible in addition to giving our consumers the opportunity to smell the product prior to purchasing. We received feedback from consumers prior to removing the seals regarding the inability to see if the fragrance was to their liking.

Based on industry norms however, we’ll continue to provide a tamper evident seal on our lip products.

Given that the two jars you purchased were tried by other consumers, I would like to send you two replacement jars. If you could reply with your full address I will have two jars of the Almond Milk & Beeswax Hand Crème shipped to you right away.

I am really impressed with their customer service, as I never would have expected them to send me two new jars. I guess sometimes whining works!
2 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees = Great customer service

  1. Yeah, this is a really good response, I've found some companies to be very blasee about replying to queries or complaints. And I suppose they are trying to do a good thing in terms of keeping their products sustainable. As long as there's some kind of Tamper Evident Tape on lip products, I guess that's fair enough. Great win on your part then really!

Leave a Reply

