Uncategorized

Some advice on switching your skincare routine to natural

I’ll start off by saying, in no way am I an expert in this. However, I have had some experiences in the past weeks that I thought were important to share to other people who might want to make the switch to natural skin care.

1. Take your time!
I am a tad overeager at times. So when I decided to switch, I switched everything. Big mistake. Body care is fine: body wash, moisturizer, deodorant… all those products can be changed fairly quickly without any negative effects. The face is another matter however. After a week of a new cleanser, toner, moisturizer and spot treatment, my face freaked out on me and went all “16-year-old” and pimply on me. I swear, you could have played connect the dots on my forehead. Easy. So I have moved back to using benzyl peroxide twice a week. In a few weeks, I will reintroduce my moisturizer once a day. Then in a few more weeks, I’ll use my benzyl peroxide once a day and a very gentle natural cleanser once a day. Then I’ll use the benzyl peroxide once every two days…. you catch my drift. Go progressively until I no longer need to use benzyl peroxide. It is even more important for people with problematic skin (blemish-prone, sensitive) to go progressively and not overwhelm your skin. Learn from my mistakes!

2. Stay simple
I bought cleanser, toner, moisturizer, spot cleanser, eye cream, masks… Don’t. Stay simple. You don’t need all that stuff. Use only what you need for your skin type and needs. Overusing beauty products is another reason for  why my skin freaked out and broke out on me. So now, back to the basics : cleanser, moisturizer, mask. And a dab of eye cream every day to keep me awake 🙂

3. Check ingredients
From experience, perfume in my skincare breaks me out. I bought a Lush spot cleanser without reading the label, thinking : it’s from Lush, it’s not 100% natural but it’ll do. Turns out, it did not do at all! Most of their products have perfume, both natural and synthetic. Which is why it is a bad idea tu trust brand blindly and not check ingredients lists before hand!

To me, dealing with acne is the biggest shot to my self-esteem. When I break out, like I did last week, I feel so not confident and very ugly. So I think it is important to take the time to do this right, even if it takes a year for me to be fully using natural skincare. I won’t make the same mistake twice.

Leave a Reply

