Uncategorized

The quest for natural products, Part I

Over the past couple of years, I have tried to have a more eco-friendly and healthy lifestyle. I started off by progressively switching all my home cleaning products for more earth-friendly alternatives.

A few weeks ago, I realized that there was no point in “going green” with my house-cleaning habits, and then leave it at that. If I was concerned about the chemicals I was pouring down drains and using on my counters, how come I was not concerned about the chemicals I was putting in my hair, on my face, in my bath water?
I started reading about natural products, and was prompted to make the switch after reading the Glamology blog. So I started researching what products would work best for me and how green they really were. The blogger behind Glamology has a great online store dedicated to 100% natural products, Mint and Berry, and I started there. I tried the Coffee Bean Eye Cream by 100% Pure, which is just simply amazing, as well as their Pinneaple Peel, which is also wonderful. Next step for skin care will be face cleanser. I don’t want to switch my whole routine at once, so I am taking it once step at a time.
I did switch my shampoo and conditioner. After doing a little research, I tried the Live Clean Pure Water line and instantly fell in love. My hair is smooth and manageable, much more than with the salon brand I was using before. Live Clean is a great brand, and although it is only 98% natural and organic (they still use preservatives although it is the gentler kind that exists), it is paraben-free, sulfate-free, biodegradable, and all that good stuff, so I feel pretty confident that I made a good choice.
Update : I forgot to mention that I also switched my lip gloss to Softlips Pure Organic lip care. Its is 100% natural, organic, smells incredible, and is awesome on the lips. I bought the Acaï Berry flavor and it is wonderful, but it comes in a lot of other flavors, including Chai Latte 🙂
Leave a Reply

