training

21 kilometers? Really?

So, as people who follow me on Facebook or Twitter will know by now, I am training for the half-marathon in Ottawa at the end of May. That’s right. Me. Training to RUN. 21 kilometers at that. Who would have thunk?

To be completely truthful, I won’t be running the whole thing. I’ll be doing 4 minutes of running followed by 1 minute of walking. The objective is to finish in 2:30 to 3 hours.
Thankfully I am not doing this alone. My friend Christine in Toronto is going to be doing it with me. And she put together the (grueling) training schedule I have been following for 3-1/2 weeks now: running 4 times a week, cross-training (swimming, biking, etc.) twice a week.
To my surprise, I’ve been handling it very well so far. Obviously this is a very progressive training regimen. For 20 weeks, we’ll be progressively increasing difficulty. We started by running 16 minutes in 1:1 intervals (1 minute of running, 1 minute of walking). Sunday, I ran 3 miles in 2:1 intervals, in 38:15 minutes (which is actually more than I have ever run in my WHOLE life). So I’m pretty proud.
I am really trying to put everything on my side to succeed, because I am DETERMINED to do this. So, I’ve bought a new sports bra, a new headband, a new armband for my iPod so I can listen to my tunes while I run, and, most exciting of all, the Nike + iPod sensor thingamagic, to help me pace myself andfollow my workouts (especially when I’ll be running outside, and not on the treadmill like I do now). I haven.t had a chance to try it yet, because I need a thingy to attach the sensor to my shoe (since I don’t have Nike + shoes) but that should be coming in the mail in a few days.Woot woot!
I’ll be using this blog as a way for me to capture my progress during my training. Hopefully I don’t die before I have a chance to run the damn thing. 🙂
Leave a Reply

